• History
  • Open and Distance Learning
  • Banner 04
Regional Educational Services
International Academic Relations
Consultancies & Services
Open Educational Resources
Library Services
  • Welcome to the OUSL. Welcome to the Future.

    The Open University of Sri Lanka (OUSL) is the country’s premier Open and Distance Learning (ODL) hub whose main campus straddles three dynamic suburban towns of Nawala, Narahenpita and Kirulapone. The university has a proud history spanning over 34 years where the OUSL was instrumental in providing high quality education to a wider section of the society through its sprawling network of Regional Centers (RC) and Study Centers (SC) situated in all major districts.

    Due to the nature of its teaching methodology and infrastructure, the OUSL is able to serve a large student population spread throughout the country. Currently, there are more than 35,000 students studying at the OUSL. They are served by eight Regional Centers and eighteen Study Centers located around the country. The Central Campus and the Colombo Regional Center are located at Nawala. The other seven Regional Centers are in Kandy, Matara, Jaffna, Anuradhapura, Badulla, Kurunegala and Batticaloa.

    The ODL system of the OUSL overcomes the barriers of age and geography by disseminating knowledge through print, visual and web-based media. The four faculties – Humanities and Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Engineering Technology and Education – cater to a wide range of practical and employment-oriented disciplines. The degrees awarded by the OUSL are equivalent to degrees awarded by any other university under the purview of the University Grants Commission.

  • Video Tour of the OUSL